Creative Blogger Award

screen-shot-2015-03-24-at-4-00-36-amLast week I was super excited to get nominated for the Creative Blogger Award by Sophie of the Rare Beauty blog. Thank you! To be nominated by such an established blogger, who’s blog I hold in high regard was a total honour for me. I really enjoy reading Sophie’s blog and find the stories she weaves through her blog super interesting. And not to mention her photography! As a blogger who’s only been going for 4 months I really look up to blogs like Rare Beauty, so thanks again for the nomination and inspiration.

Rules/instructions:

1. Thank and link back to the person who nominated you (mention your nominator in your own award post with a link back to their original award post, which would be this one).
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Nominate other bloggers and comment on their blogs (usually on their about page or contact directly if necessary) to let them know.

7 facts about me:

1. My father was a chef and who is I got my love for cooking from. He came to this country from the Himalayas in his ’20s with barely any English or money but he perserved and learnt how to cook. He moved up to Scotland where he met my mother and throughout his life he ran a number of businesses, mainly restaurants – including Scotland’s very first Nepalese restaurant.

2. I have travelled to 31 different countries across 5 continents. I love learning about the culture, people and food of different countries. The most notable trip being in 2011-12 that took in Estonia, Russia, Mongolia, China, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, India and Nepal.  Earlier this year I ticked off Brazil – a trip that had been planned for years, going to Carnaval for a friend’s birthday. The top of my dream list now are Japan, Cuba and the Artic Circle.

Sunset over Ipanema beach in Rio, Brazil

Sunset over Ipanema beach in Rio, Brazil

3. I was originally going to start blogging in 2013 when I was made redundant from the job before my current one. I knew that food was my passion and decided to use my time off to write and start working towards ‘the dream’. But I unexpectedly found a new job very quickly and before long was consumed by that, until I decided that earlier this year I needed to just get on with it and make time to write and explore my ideas. So here I am!

4. ‘The dream’ is to open a food business. I have a vision of a veggie/vegan cafe-cum-bar-cum-shop but want to build up to it bit by bit – perhaps via a stall or a series of smaller events. My Nepal fundraiser pop up dinner was great experience of catering en masse and I have a couple more potential projects in the pipeline.

5. I grew up in Edinburgh, studied in Glasgow, went back to Edinburgh for a few years and now live in London. These are, in my opinion, three of the best cities in the UK and I’m lucky to have lived in them all. Glasgow in particular is a haven for veggie and vegan food, whilst Edinburgh has so many high class restaurants you can always find a great meal. I would like to live abroad at some point but right now I’m super happy in London, so will figure out at some point how to incorporate that into my dream…

Beautiful Edinburgh at the Winter Festival

Beautiful Edinburgh during the Winter Festival

6. Whilst I absolutely love cooking, I am not as big a fan of baking. I find the precise nature of it too restrictive but I know that there’s a science behind it too which maybe I’ll master one day. I also have much more of a taste for savoury than sweet – crips over chocolate any time!

7. My first job was as a fairy. I worked in The Fairy Shop in Edinburgh doing kids parties, dressed up in a pink fairy dress and tiara. It was lots of fun but very tiring and is probably where my passion for working with and for children and young people came from, which is what I do in my non-blog life.

I would like to nominate:

The Tofu Diaries – Natalie’s food blog was one of the first I came across that I fell in love with. It’s completely on my wavelength and Natalie is super friendly online too.

Thinking Like Nina – Nina is fairly new to blogging too but already I find her tales about yoga inspirational. She is a fierce, determined young woman who makes me smile!

The Happy Healthy Kiwi – Katie’s blog is honest, interesting and inspiring. Being so open on a public space can be difficult and I have massive respect from this and have learnt from her.

Roxy’s Veganomics – Roxy is fairly new to veganism and shares her recipes and experiences in a funny, honest and enlightening way.

A Spoonful of Nature – Anna’s blog is just beautiful. The recipes are simple and delicious. The life advice is spot on. And the photography dreamy.

Thanks for reading, and do please check out these brilliant blogs. I look forward to seeing who they all nominate too, and if you have any recommendations please comment below.

Sareta x

8 thoughts on “Creative Blogger Award

  1. Natalie Tamara says:

    Thank you so much for the shoutout – such lovely words 🙂 I loved reading your facts too!

    With you on #6, you can be so much more creative with savoury cooking (though I do have a sweet tooth as well as a savoury one!).

    Like

    • saretap says:

      Definitely more scope to be creative with savoury – I have a much better aptitude for knowing what does & doesn’t work and most often just chuck stuff together. I do like sweet but not too much & I know that if I bake I need to eat it all!

      Like

  2. The Happy Healthy Kiwi says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination, I am absolutely blown away ☺. And your first job, how awesome to be able to dress up and play for a job! I can imagine it would have gotten exhausting tho!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. saretap says:

    You’re welcome. I really enjoy reading your blog & am inspired by it’s openness. Yes, being a fairy was very tiring especially on days I’d have 3 parties of up to 30 4-6 year olds running wild! Couldn’t keep up with them all nowadays…!

    Like

Leave a Reply

