Shortbread recipe

 Despite being Scottish, I’ve never been that big a fan of shortbread. It is often too rich, buttery and heavy, so this was quite a random thing for me to make. But as Saint Andrew’s Day approached and I didn’t have ingredients to make anything more exciting like cranachan, I thought I’ll give these a whirl. Glad I did as they were exceptionally light, tasty, and moreish. Perfect to enjoy after a generous helping of my veggie haggis (recipe here).

These are super simple to make. I am not big into baking – I find the precision required annoying at times – but you really can’t go wrong here. There are only four common ingredients involved and they take no time at all to make.

These are vegan as I used dairy-free spread, but they would work with butter for non-vegans. I use Vitalite as it’s one of the few brands that doesn’t contain palm oil which is just downright evil.

Shortbread

  • Servings: 30 small biscuits
  • Time: 1hr
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 200g dairy-free spread
  • 100g caster sugar + 1-2 tbsp for sprinkling
  • 300g plain flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice (optional)

Method

Cream the spread/butter with the sugar until soft and fluffy.

Sieve in the flour and add the vanilla essence and lemon juice. Mix until you have a dough like mixture. I find it easiest to use my hands once it’s got to a crumby texture.

Wrap in cling film and put in the fridge for 20-30 minutes. Meanwhile heat the oven to 180°C.

Roll the dough out on a floured surface to 1/2cm thickness. Cut out whatever shapes you like – you can use a cookie cutter, or a glass/cup.

Put on a baking paper lined (or greased) baking tray and sprinkle with caster sugar.

Cook for 15-20 minutes, until the sides begin to go brown.

4 comments

    • Do try & let me know what you think! I’ve made it years ago & think I did it slightly differently – this was definitely lighter which I like. What’s the link to yours?

      Like

Leave a Reply

