Stuffed butternut squash recipe

I made stuffed squash for Christmas dinner last month, however I could happily enjoy this all year round. This was my first Christmas following a vegan diet, although for plenty of previous years I have made a super delicious nut roast which is vegan. I wanted to do something different, and scoured the internet for inspiration. I toyed with veganisng  Ottolenghi’s aubergine, courgette and yoghurt upside down cake but wanted something with a protein hit. I considered a pie, like  this Vegetarian Society Christmas pie, but last year I made a pastry-based main (veggie Wellington). So I then thought about festive vegetables, especially those I don’t usually eat, and settled on stuffed squash. I based my dish on this Vegetarian Society recipe, but with a few twists to make it to my taste.

Everyone kept asking “what can you eat at Christmas?” which I think is quite an ignorant question. There are so many options, and people don’t really ask that of vegetarians anymore. I still had the same sides as my family, asides from the pigs in blankets (the name alone makes me sad…) but just for some they added butter. We had roast potatoes, carrots and parsnips steamed in orange sauce, pan-fried sprouts and cranberry sauce. Nothing untoward there!




Stuffed butternut squash

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 125g of ready to eat Puy lentils (I use Merchant Gourmet)
  • 30g pine nuts
  • 50g walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • 75ml vegetable stock
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 1/2 fresh red chilli, sliced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • ½ tsp wholegrain mustard
  • 2 tbsp red wine

Method

Preheat oven to 180C.

Wrap the butternut squash in foil and bake in the oven for around 50-60 minutes or until soft. Once cooked, leave to cool.

While the squash is cooking make the filling. Fry the onion in the oil for 5 minutes, then add the chilli and garlic and fry for a few more minutes until all are soft. Add all the other ingredients except the walnuts and pine nuts and simmer for 15 minutes.

Once the squash is cool, cut them in half and scoop out the seeds along with a little of the flesh to make a boat like shape.

Add the filling mixture to the squash, top with walnuts and pine nuts  and bake for 10-15 minutes until the nuts are golden. Garnish with some more paprika and sage. You could use fresh herbs too if you have any. Serve one half per person.

Leave a Reply

