Quinoa & oat snack bar recipe


Earlier this week I was cooking some quinoa for my lunch salad but in my typically haphazard way I wasn’t completely paying attention so didn’t get my quinoa/water ratios right (first world problem, right?!). This is fine is you’re having quinoa porridge or making cakes or treats, but for straight up grained quinoa you definitely don’t want it soggy. Not one to throw food out I made some impromptu snack bars which are great for getting a healthy protein fix. I tend to have bars like this pre or post workout or if I need a good travel snack.

When cooking the quinoa make sure you use 1.5 times the usual amount of water than if you were just cooking it as a grain (i.e. you want it still soggy, not with all the water cooked off).

I used dates and goji berries as they are all I had in, however you could easily substitute for other dried fruit, nuts or even chocolate! If only I hadn’t demolished all my vegan Christmas chocolate already… I added cinnamon for a little extra flavour but again this could be something else.

Quinoa and oat bars

  • Servings: 8
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of cooked quinoa (still soggy – see above for details)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp ground almonds
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 3-4 dates finely chopped
  • Handful of goji berries
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder

Method

Cook the quinoa if you haven’t already. Ensure that it’s a bit soggy – an almost porridge-like consistency.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Mix the quinoa and oats together. They should start to bind a little due to the moistness of the quinoa.

Bit by bit add the rest of the ingredients, tasting as you go along. I recommend experimenting as this is what I did to get the taste and consistency I wanted! If you like a sweeter bar you could replace the coconut oil with another tablespoon of maple syrup.

You should then have a soft, slightly sticky dough-like mixture.

On a tray with baking paper, or greased, spread out the mixture into a rectangle about one inch thick. Flatten and shape with your hands.

Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes until it has started to golden slightly. Remove, cool and cut into bar-shaped sliced. The final texture is almost like a flapjack.

Leave a Reply

