Tofu cheesecake recipe

 I’ve been a massive fan of tofu cheesecake long before following a vegan diet. I first came across it at Mono in Glasgow, undoubtedly one of my favourite vegan haunts in the UK. Their cheesecake is so close to the real thing that when it first graced my lips I really didn’t understand how what I was eating wasn’t cheese. I recently made Minimalist Baker’s mini cashew cheesecakes and whilst they were totally lush, they didn’t quite taste like the real thing. I knew that I needed to get jiggy with tofu instead to satisfy my cheesecake desires. Although I am totally hankering after this matcha cashew cheesecake that I came across since making this one.

I searched high and low for the ideal recipe but oddly couldn’t find many made with tofu and a biscuit base (as opposed to a date-mix base). As I was cooking this for my family I wanted a biscuit base as something too different might just be a step too far… My three year old niece assisted me making this but did keep asking “why does auntie always make funny food….?” Needless to say veganism is a concept I’ve not managed to introduce her to – yet!

I was super delighted at how this cheesecake turned out – it is honestly just like the real deal. Positive feedback from friends and family alike! And I’m sure if I hadn’t even let on it wasn’t cheese there wouldn’t have been any sneering at all… My only qualm was that my base to topping ratio wasn’t quite right, but I’ve adjusted the recipe to fix that.  Any feedback much appreciated as this is my first go at this particular dish, although it certainly won’t be my last!

  

 

Tofu cheesecake

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of oatcakes, crushed
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • ½ tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbsp corn flour (or plain flour)
  • 2 tbsp almond milk (or soy milk)
  • 450g firm silken tofu
  • ⅓ cup caster sugar
  • 1 tbsp tahini (or almond butter)
  • 1 tbsp grated lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Use a blender or food processor to turn the oatcakes in to crumbs. Alternatively put them in a plastic bag and crush with a rolling pin. Add the maple syrup and half of the vanilla extract until crumbs are moistened. If you need a little more syrup, add it.

Pour the crumbs into an oiled 9-inch pie plate/dish and press mixture down firmly to form crust. Bake for 5 minutes then cool while preparing the filling.

Whisk the flour with the milk until it makes a smooth paste. Then in a blender, processor or using a handheld blender, mix the paste with the tofu, sugar, tahini and lemon, plus the rest of the vanilla extract, until smooth. Taste and add more lemon or vanilla if you wish.

Pour the filling on top of the base and bake for around 30 minutes, until the top begins to go golden. It will be slightly firm but springy too. And here you have it, a totally delightful cheeseless cheesecake!

Leave a Reply

