Quinoa porridge recipe

 This may be one of the most middle class, middle aged things I’ve ever made. And given that it was an impromptu meal upon realising I didn’t have any maple syrup to make aubergine bacon (yes, it’s a thing) then I definitely deserve the disapproving looks and bemused expressions from some of my peers and acquaintances – most notably those not in London who maybe don’t have hipster credentials to be dented! 

Joke all you want, but a hearty healthy breakfast is the best way to start the day and this is a great alternative to those that may not indulge traditional porridge for whatever reason. My personal reason for not usually liking porridge being that I used to make it for my dad’s breakfast and the smell and consistency would always turn my stomach a bit. I think cause he started eating it after a long stint in hospital and every time I made it I thought back to the slodge they messed out for him.

But this recipe is full of love and happiness! It’s super simple and can be enjoyed with or without fruit or nuts. I used dried goji berries – any other dried fruit would also work, as would grated or chopped fruit like apple, berries or banana.

So have a go, mix it up. I bet you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

quinoa porridge

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 25mins
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cups quinoa
  • 1 & 1/2 cups of almond milk (or whatever you prefer)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (can sub for maple syrup or agave syrup)
  • Handful of chopped nuts
  • Small handful of goji berries or other dried fruit

Method

Add the quinoa, milk, water, cinnamon and nutmeg to a pan and bring to a medium heat.

Simmer for around 20 minutes until all the grains are soft. The consistency should be soft like traditional porridge, not dry like if you are cooking quinoa as a grain. Add more milk or water if it starts to get too dry.

Add the sugar to taste.

Transfer to a bowl and top with fruit and nuts (optional) and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

