Quinoa and chia seed bread recipe 

 I’ve been particularly lax on the recipes and general blog life of late. Working away half the time has taken its toll on me getting into the kitchen as much as I’d like, particularly to try anything new or different. I churn out the same regular meals most nights which I rarely actually blog about as I make them up as I go along – very rarely is there a formula!

But this week I was inspired by a recipe in my TRIBE newsletter for quinoa and chia seed bread. I was intrigued by how such ingredients, with no flour or water – apart from what the chia is soaked in – would make bread. I’m not bothered by gluten-free but if it’s an option I’ll happily have it as long as it doesn’t compromise on flavour. This bread did the opposite – it wowed me with its flavour and texture so much than I questioned if I would want any other bread! Sure, it’s quite indulgent with more pricey ingredients, but it still works out cheaper than buying an artisan loaf from the bakers (a similar loaf in London’s Euphorium Bakery is over £4).

You can make this bread plain or add in extra ingredients for flavour – I used red onion, chilli and sun-dried tomato. The texture of the mix would also be great for making muffins and I’m already thinking about using grated courgette, garlic and thyme for these. You could even make a sweet or fruity version as the bread’s texture if a bit like a fruit loaf.

Be aware that the mixture is more like a batter than a dough and that it will be a little sticky when you take it out the oven. Anyone that’s ever made chia pots can imagine the consistency. The recipe I originally had said 60 mins but others I looked at suggested 90 mins which was definitely more appropriately – at 60 it was still pretty mushy. The more extra ingredients you add the wetter the mixture might be and it’ll take longer to firm up.

Serving wise, it’s lovely fresh and warm. However it’s best lightly grilled (note, it’s too floppy for a toaster) to firm it up a bit. The crust already has a delightful crunch which perfectly offsets the moist centre. I had it topped with avocado tomato and coriander for breakfast which was painfully middle-class but totally delicious. I later tried it with a dollop of peanut butter which was also pretty damn special.


Quinoa & chia seed bread

  • Servings: 1 small loaf
  • Time: 1 hour 45mins
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cup of chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice
  • 60ml olive oil
  • Pumpkin & sunflower seeds to top (optional)

Optional items to stuff it with:

  • 4 sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 red onion, finely chopped and lightly fried
  • 1 red chilli, finely chopped
  • Black pepper

Method

Soak the quinoa in water overnight – or for at least 8 hours – in one bowl and cover. In another bowl cover the chia seeds with 2 cups of water and cover.

When ready to make the bread heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Drain the water from the quinoa. Do not remove any liquid from the chia seeds which will now be a bit gooey. Put both in a blender and add the rest of the main ingredients (everything apart from any fillings you might include).

Blend for at least 3 minutes until you get a batter-like dough. It’s best to be a little grainy still for texture.

Mix in any of your additional fillings.

Pour into a lined/greased loaf tin an bake for 90 minutes. Let it cool for 20 mins before turning out of the loaf tin to cool further. It should be moist but not liquidy.

Best served sliced and lightly grilled.

Leave a Reply

