Cashew nut cream recipe

Cashew cream.jpgMy first official recipe as a freelancer! Although I have to confess to slightly cheating as I did write this up last week but only got round to the final editing and scheduling on Sunday night. But what better way to start the week than a taco pic and dreams of cashew cream?!

I’ve made this delectable drizzle for a couple of Ruby & Pickles events. Firstly for our Indian tapas evening where I adapted an Anjum Anand recipe of pistachio dressing to include cashews instead. Then I recreated it for our first birthday celebrations a couple of weekends ago where it was served on top of Indian tacos of kidney bean curry (recipe in last post) topped with pickled red cabbage, tomato chutney and this cream.

This dressing is my current obsession. It’s easy to knock up and doesn’t require many cashews which can be expensive (I get mine from Lidl which are great value). Everything just needs blended together making it super simple and takes no time at all.

I’m also going to be making it at Leicester Vegan Fair which I’d doing with my vegan gal pal Charlie-May. Our first of hopefully many vegan adventures and ventures together!

The dressing can be kept in the fridge for at least a week, probably two (mine never lasts that long!) as the lemon juice will give it longevity. I store mine in a squeezy bottle so that it is easy to drizzle over salads or any dish that I am having.

It even goes great on toast which I discovered when I took it in to work on my last day. When asked ‘what have you got today?’ as I always have rather unconventional breakfast offerings I casually replied ‘just a cashew cream’ which responded in quite a chuckle from my colleague who noted that would go down as one of the best breakfast at work stories. Something for them to remember me bye, eh?!

Whatever you do with your cashew cream I have no doubt you will enjoy it!

Cashew nut dressing

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Time: 10 minutes (plus cashew soaking time
  • Print

Ingredients 

  • 1/3 cup cashew nuts
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2-3 tbsp lemon juice
  • Black pepper to taste

Method 

Soak the cashew nuts in warm water for at least half an hour to soften them, ideally longer.

Blend all of the ingredients in a blend, starting with 2 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp lemon juice then add more if you want the dressing to be thinner or the taste to be adjusted. More lemon juice will make it more tart and additional olive oil will make it creamier. Add more black pepper to taste.

Once it is your preferred consistency transfer to a container or bottle. Store in fridge for up to two weeks.

Leave a Reply

