Retro fusion fundraising supperclub

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-18 at 15.29.10.jpegI grew up in a single parent household with my father and sister following the death of my mum when I was 3 and my sister was 7.  Back in the late ’80s and ’90s being a man bringing up children solo was rare.  And in Edinburgh coming from a mixed race background made our situation even more…. unique. My dad did an incredible job on his own – working tirelessly to keep a roof over our head, feed us and give us a good education. He wasn’t one to accept help but I also don’t know if he knew any was available.

That is why it is vital to highlight charities such as Gingerbread who work with single parent families and campaign on behalf of them across England and Wales. In Scotland – where I’m originally from – the equivalent charity is One Parent Families Scotland.

Charities like this often don’t get much notice unless it’s from people that need their services. So I am running a supperclub where 100% of the proceeds will go to Gingerbread plus people at the event will be able to find out even more about the valuable work they do.

As a nod to my childhood I’m creating a unique retro fusion meal. Despite my dad being a fantastic chef he didn’t always have time to cook before back-to-back shifts and we’d sustain ourselves when he was out at work on the best that Iceland, Farmfoods and – if you grew up in Scotland – Capital had to offer. My menu will modernise – and veganise – some of my childhood faves including crispy pancakes, mac cheese and potato waffles along with a nod to my Indian heritage.

It won’t all be carbs (not that I at all have a problem with that) as I’ll be sexing up the classic veg portions of baked beans and peas. Dessert is currently up for grabs – Angel Delight? Swiss roll and skooshy cream? Chocolate gateau? Piles and piles of party rings? Or was that just me…?

I am all ears to suggestions on what to cook or even have a go at in recipe development. My first session this Sunday largely went well – I pulled off some keema (Indian mince & peas curry) crispy pancakes and practiced a potato mix that could be waffle-ised. But my raw swiss choc roll ended up being turned into protein bars. Morale of that story – don’t try and make raw sweets for an indulgent evening of throwback food!

So watch this space (or Instagram) for updates.

The supperclub is happening on Thursday 19 July at the delightful 10 Cable Street in Shadwell, London. Tickets are £20 for three courses available from Eventbrite with all proceeds from ticket sales going towards Gingerbread.

If you can’t make the event but would still like to support the charity you can make a direct donation on their page.

 

Leave a comment