Vegetarian haggis sausage rolls

IMG_2358I’ve had requests to share this recipe since my photo of haggis sausage rolls appeared in Collectively’s article on the 10 most vegetarian-friendly countries in the world. So here it is!

Vegetarian haggis is one of my favourite dishes and I love getting experimental with it as I’ve mentioned previously in my haggis pakora recipe.

This is a really easy recipe that is a great way to use leftover haggis. If you’re feeling adventurous make your own using my recipe – it’s super simple – or go for a ready-made one like MacSween’s. My version is vegan and I’m pretty sure shop-bought ones generally are too. If you’re feeling super adventurous you can make your own pastry, but pre-made is much more convenient so I usually opt for that!

A nice twist is to brush the pastry with some mustard or pesto, or add some chilli flakes, crushed garlic  or fresh herbs before you roll the pastry over the haggis. These are delicous served with a tomato chutney.

Vegetarian haggis sausage rolls

  • Servings: 20 pieces
  • Print

Ingredients

Method

Roll out your pastry and cut it into long strips around 3-4 inches wide.

Shape the haggis into long sausages about 1/3 the width of the pastry strips and as long as the pastry. Lay the haggis sausage in the middle of the strip. Roll each pastry around the filling so that the seam is underneath.

Chill in the fridge for 15-20 minutes.

Meanwhile preheat the oven to 180°c and oil a baking tray.

Remove the rolls from the fridge and cut into 2-3 inch long sausage rolls. Brush with the milk (or melted margarine/butter) and gently pierce them each with a fork or make small slices with a sharp knife. Bake for 20 minutes until golden brown.

3 comments

Leave a comment